This is the "Introduction" page of the "Anglican Archive Guidelines" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anglican Archive Guidelines  

Last Updated: Sep 7, 2014 URL: http://kinderlibrary.libguides.com/archiveguidlines Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Intro

Anglican Episcopal Units (dioceses, hui amorangi) and other Anglican organisations are required to keep records for legal, business and historical reasons. Canon X: of Archives and History makes provision for both the retention of the Archives of the general Synod and associated bodies, and the archives of episcopal units as follows:

Canon X of Archives and History

Clause 1

There is hereby established the Archives for the Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia which shall include all non‑current records of permanent value of the General Synod / te Hīnota Whānui, its commissions and working committees, the records of the Primate / te Pīhopa Mātāmua and the General Secretary, as well as the archives of institutions and bodies which relate primarily to the common life of this Church, and shall include the records of any synodical conference which may be established between dioceses of this Church

Clause 7

It shall be the responsibility of chairpersons and secretaries of commissions and other bodies relating to the common life of this Church to transfer to the Archives from time to time the records of their bodies.  All such records which have passed out of current use shall first be offered to the Archives before they are destroyed or disposed of by other means.

Clause 8

Each Diocesan Synod / Hui Amorangi shall arrange for the maintenance as archives of such of its records and registers as it may deem worthy of permanent preservation for historical research and other purposes, having proper regard for such guidelines as may be laid down from time to time by the Archives and History Committee Te Puna o Neherā of the Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia.  Each Synod and Te Runanga shall also ensure that parochial, pastorate, mission and other organisations’ records shall be similarly maintained and preserved.

 

Guidelines for the proper creation and care of church records have been made from time to time, under the auspices of the Archive and History Committee: Te Puna o Neherā.

These include

Why keep Records?  Introductory Paper for the Archives and History Committee Hui Safeguarding our Collective past, November 2010

Keeping Minutes – Guidelines for the Recording of the Business of Church Committees

Disposal and Retention of Records

Preserving Digital Records

Standard Naming Conventions for Electronic Records

Formats for archiving electronic documents

Privacy Act Flowchart

[Writing Parish History]

[Ministry Unit Archives Handbook] 

 

Library Contacts

On campus at St John's Theological College:

202 St John's Road, Meadowbank, Auckland

Ph: (64 9) 528 3950

Email: library@kinderlibrary.ac.nz

Write to:

John Kinder Theological Library
Private Bag 28907
Remuera
Auckland 1541
NEW ZEALAND
 

Opening Hours

Monday - Thursday: 8.30am - 7.00pm

Friday: 8.30am - 5.00pm

Saturday: 10.00am - 4.00pm

 

Find us on Social Media

 
HTML Map

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip